View Single Post
Old 05-14-2020, 02:03 AM  
bill_musk
Confirmed User

Industry Role:
Quote:
Originally Posted by drexl View Post

I am a computer professional and I use common sense to demonstrate the point:
if they were oblivious to that information you could create new usernames by the hundreds and make money using their PPL program ($1 per signup). But you can't do that, they will spot you because like any serious business they have mechanisms in place. And that's even before you enter any credit card details.

Let's be precise with the definition so we're sure to talk about the same thing. You must be talking about the ID (User ID - column 2), which is different for each username/account. UID (User Unique ID - column 8) however is unique per user/person.

Clearing cookies and making a new account will change the ID, but it is my assessment that the UID will remain the same.

If you think about it, their fraud and abuse department must need this information. They don't want fraudsters or abusive customers to re-spawn by just creating a new username.

This is also useful for their marketing department so they can see the flow.

Let's see a few scenarios for illustration purposes:

#1 user first account
(ID:123456;UID:abcdef;USERNAME:bob;AFFILIATE_ID:xx x)

#2 user clears cookies, and creates a new account
(ID: 333427;UID:abcdef;USERNAME:cc_bob;AFFILIATE_ID:yyy )

=> user abcdef was originally referred by xxx but now yyy makes the $$
=> only ID and UID are shown to the affiliate, the other records are obviously in the db but not displayed in our dashboard.

Well I beg to differ. For 2 reasons: